E-Motion

Steve Crandall, Esq., CEO
ProMotion Holdings
2200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 425
Seattle, WA 98121

via email to: jobs@promotionholdings.com

Dear Mr. Crandall:

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to bring together my interests, skills, and experiences entwining the fields of law, psychology, and visual communications. Your available positions came to my attention after Googling  “courtroom graphics Seattle” and your firm’s offerings were the least visually heinous of the competition on the first page of search results. Still, your online communications to your global audience are nowhere close to the level of visual appeal, for example, of a firm like NBBJ, the architects responsible for the U.S. Federal Courthouse in your neighborhood. Gauging from the recent #FutureLaw conference hosted by Stanford University’s College of Law, the cross-disciplinary industry of visual communications and law should soon be highly competitive, where it’s not just technology changing the field, but also, as I wrote in 2012, visual literacy demanded by a culture with readily accessible visual production tools, constantly bombarded with visual information, but largely lacking the visual education to compose or design compelling visual communications:

Soon, justice might wonder, is there even a need for oral argument? If the defendants no longer have the right to be present in the courtroom, do the lawyers really need to show up? Or could they simply battle via screen-to-screen visual representations of their clients and supporting evidence? The judge could stay at home in her pajamas under her robe.

Happy that you recognize that persuasive visual communications rely not on pretty pictures, but a visual vocabulary defined as the visual elements organized by a visual grammar known as the principles of design. Happier still to read your diversity statement at a firm where I might hope to be judged on the caliber of my work and my words and behavior, rather than on my family structure, gender identity, or political opinion that may or may not agree with your own. Easily the best written diversity statement that I have encountered in seven years of job applications after earning my graduate degree in visual communications coincident with the start of the Great Recession. Pure poetry, your commitment to diversity.

May I help you make your visual form say the same thing as your written website content communicating your firm’s capabilities to your global audience? Show me, don’t tell me, the adage of creative writing workshops everywhere in a verbal attempt to persuade more descriptive language of beginning writers, applies a thousand-fold to multimedia communications. On your firm’s history page, for instance, you’ve got the ta-da-dum .png of a disc with a Starbucks mark, but where’s the vid that made your audience laugh, made them cry, sent you on your journey away from corporate law to visual production?

I can tell you that my education in figure painting and anatomy are readily applicable to medical illustration and that I’ve developed my skills to include working with animation software, or I can just show you:

To your team I also bring education and experiences the equivalent of a Ph.D. in psychology, with my MFA deeply informed by psychoanalytic theory, editing for a Ph.D. sociologist on my graduate committee prior to her acceptance for academic publication, and informal experience providing visual cues and recommendations for remediation or psychotherapy for perpetrators as my prosecutorial ex-husband prepped for his trials. Had I known then what I know now about the cognitive dissonance in jurisprudence and the bureaucratization of human psychology, I would have recommended life drawing lessons instead.

My proven track record with successful marketing or visual communications includes rebranding and identity for a Seattle School Board director who ousted the corporate-backed incumbent despite the vast disparity in their campaign funding, brand analysis of the technology companies profiting from the culturally harmful curricular and funding reduction of the arts and humanities in America’s public schools, and my initial post-graduate entrepreneurial attempts netted web stats more than double those boasted by a local communications firm for a microsite they built for Seattle Art Museum.

Happy to note your commitment to social responsibility, in particular, your contribution to Fare Start. Aglow from recently receiving so many compliments on my cooking from homeless chefs and graduates of their program, I am debating whether I am better off attending a trade school to learn the design principle of scaling up from residential to commercial food production, or if I should add to my credentials by proceeding on to a really well branded law school. Studying for the LSAT compared to my past experiences evaluating long essays exams for upper division art history courses, I awarded a grade of C– when I encountered their caliber of writing. Hiring me adds all the skills you seek to your team while giving you the chance to be the hero by directly helping a homeless woman off Seattle’s overly crowded streets.

May we schedule a meet-up in meatspace to discuss?

Sincerely,

Jana Brubaker

One thought on “E-Motion

  1. Pingback: Beyond Mind/Body Wellness | journal6other

add marginalia

